2 Dec

Managing social media accounts is a dangerous job for a procrastinator and arguably a.d.d. employee like myself. I came across Clayton M. Christenson’s commencement speech “how will you measure your life”  the other day and felt motivated by some of his advice. Christenson explains:

For me, having a clear purpose in my life has been essential. But it was something I had to think long and hard about before I understood it. When I was a Rhodes scholar, I was in a very demanding academic program, trying to cram an extra year’s worth of work into my time at Oxford. I decided to spend an hour every night reading, thinking, and praying about why God put me on this earth. That was a very challenging commitment to keep, because every hour I spent doing that, I wasn’t studying applied econometrics. I was conflicted about whether I could really afford to take that time away from my studies, but I stuck with it—and ultimately figured out the purpose of my life.

Without the religious context, this advice is still useful in that it asks us to be mindful of our goals, rather than ambivalently drifting out to sea. I can name you all the things I don’t want, but find it nearly impossible to settle on something I do. My aim is to spend an hour a week figuring out what I do want (in a non-creepy “The Secret,” Oprah’s dream board kind of way).

I want a job that I wake up feeling energized about, so I borrowed “Do What You Are” from the library. The book helps readers pinpoint their Meyer-Briggs personality type (which I am now obsessed with) and then provides recommendations as to what kinds of jobs make that personality type feel energized and purposeful. I have to say, it’s pretty spot on for myself and anyone I harass into sharing their Meyer-Briggs type. As an INTP, I thrive on analytical thinking and creative problem solving, and only prefer to work in small groups of people I intellectually and creatively respect.Also, an unstructured work environment is a must. I suppose it didn’t tell me something I didn’t already know, but did provide career suggestions that resonated. Most important of all, it made me feel less guilty for rejecting the kind of jobs other people sometimes expect of me — it’s just not in my dna.

(P.S. if you are reading this tell me your Meyer-Briggs type. As I said, I am obsessed).

 

3 Responses to “”

  1. esto December 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    how do i find my MB type for free/online?

  2. tracy January 6, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    We actually had someone from main campus come to our office last year to do a big Meyer-Briggs session in order to help us understand each other and get along better (even though we already all get along!). It was super informative and I, too, was obsessed with it after. Unfortunately I forget my type but I had kept the quiz booklet and sheets to test everyone I knew — unfortunately I lost that too! Thanks for posting a link!

Leave a Reply

